Do You Play A Musical Instrument?

Live & In Person, On CD or MP3
Low-N-Slow

Do You Play A Musical Instrument?

Post by Low-N-Slow »

Growing up, in school, I played saxophone in all of the available extra-curricular venues-- concert, marching, and jazz band. But, as with most teen-aged boys, the guitar was what I really wanted to learn. At age 15, I bought a cheap Stratocaster knock-off at a Service Merchandise-type place. It wasn't until I traded up to an old Gibson electric that I realized the hardware was half my battle in attaining an acceptable level of enjoyment.

So my question is did you ever/do you play an instrument? Did you take lessons (in school or elsewhere), or are you self-taught? Do you play strictly for your own enjoyment, or are you confident enough in your abilities to play in front of other people? Just curious.
"I find the pastrami to be the most sensual of all the salted cured meats. Hungry?"
kcdixiecat

Re: Do You Play A Musical Instrument?

Post by kcdixiecat »

I was the ultimate band geek. I've played piano since I was a kid..even gave lessons for a few years. I was the kid that when the band director needed someone to play a different instrument..he would throw it to me. As a result, I learned the woodwinds. Started out on flute and piccolo..moved on to oboe and sax...even played french horn for concert band one year. That one was the toughest for me...I'm not a brass player.
Isabella Maja

Post by Isabella Maja »

Interesting question that's never come up before!

Yes, I play the clarinet. I started lessons in 3rd grade and took them for 4 yrs. After that we didn't have a music teacher anymore, so I continued on my own for a while. I'd love to pick it up again, but I need to get my clarinet overhauled. I love listening to clarinet.

I fool around on the drums a bit and do play those in front of other people. Not because I am so able, but more just to jam.

I always wanted to play sax, flute, piano & guitar. Maybe one day!
Schuarta